Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Tue, Aug 11, 2009 3:15 AM

Boody38

How important is a level head?

You can take the top 10 skiers in this sport and you will see all different forms and styles.  Yet, they all seem to have a perfectly level head, to the point it looks wierd.  You go to a class c tournament and hardly anyone has a level head.  There must be something to it but you never hear coaches or pros discuss this.  Is this an under rated tip that is essential for great skiers?

#2 Tue, Aug 11, 2009 12:44 PM

h20dawg79
Water Ski Sage
Skis At: Old Hickory Lake, TN.
Foot Forward: left

Re: How important is a level head?

I'm no expert. But, I will say as in the example of "doing a flip" -your body follows your head... (you can not intentionally flip without 1st tucking your head.)
OTF's are much the same way.

If you've ever had any back problems and had to go to the Chiropractor, you will normally have one series of muscles that are tight and "knotted up" and another opposing group that is stretched and "lengthened" the rest of the muscles react automatically to realign (Level) your head. -In the mirror, your back and/or shoulders might look like 5 miles of Bad road, But your head will remain Level... (it's a natural thing)

Therefore, a Level head would obviously be the foundation for any hope of great form.