Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Wed, Feb 4, 2009 11:27 PM

tjo
Foot Forward: Right

New Bindings Advice

I'm considering switching to some new bindings.  Right now I'm on HO Approach bindings, but I just purchased a new ski and am considering changing up the bindings as well to either the RS-1's or Fogmans.  I've never tried either of them, so before I pull the trigger on a purchase can anyone tell me their experience, good or bad, with these bindings?  If it helps, I ski through 22' at 34 mph consistently and can get 3 or 4 balls at 28'.   At my level of skiing, are either one of those options too much for me to handle?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Travis Ogden

#2 Thu, Feb 5, 2009 3:19 AM

JP

Re: New Bindings Advice

Both of those systems are great bindings. Personally I am running fogmans but I would not suggest them to anyone unless i see them ski in person. With the fogmans it is a much more responsive transition of energy from your feet to the ski. When i skied on them for the first time coming from my approach i found out about movements that i had no idea that i was doing. So somebody who is very consistent in their body position over the ski will have good success with them after they get use to them. I like the RS-1 bindings alot too. The biggest reason that i do not own them is because the thought of a liner release scares me. With the fogmans, if one foot releases both feet release. With the RS-1 bindings you have to pray that both feet will release. Either way both are really exceptional binding systems and it all comes down to preference.

#3 Thu, Feb 5, 2009 3:59 AM

ColinBuchanan
Skis At: SkiTek
Foot Forward: Left