Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Thu, Jun 21, 2007 2:49 PM

jerrysnow
Skis At: Lac rouge
Foot Forward: Left

Speed and Angle versus Lean ?

Hi Chris or Wade,

Good skiing at the shootout ! I am a freeskier  trying to polish my technique. My Background is snow skiing ( instructor and racer ) so carving and generating speed trough the turn is natural for me and I fully understand the center of mass movement and counter rotation. Here is my problem even with a tight rope at the handle after my turn I feel my ski is not accelarating easily enough seems like a battle with the boat. I know I get wide enough because I tried the course ( certified comp. course) at 32 mph 15 off and 34 mph and ran it 4 times out of 6 with the entry gate and everything. The gate is very tricky for a first timer ! Ok so I free ski now up to 28 off 33-34 mph with confidence but got my ass kicked at 32 off from what I suspect is bad form while crossing the wake I tend to let go the pressure at the first wake because load is tough to hold from the feeling of not accelarating fast enough. I tried to push the ski more in front before the first wake and it help but I don't feel balance most of the time. I feel I have to move to much to ajust rather than keeping my body quiet. Is there any drills and specific point I could work on to help me generate more speed and control while crossing the wakes.

Take into account that I ski 2 set per day 2 days a week.

Thanks

Share your passion with others and it will keep yours alive!

#2 Fri, Jun 22, 2007 1:56 PM

ChrisRossi
Foot Forward: Right

Re: Speed and Angle versus Lean ?