Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Mon, Nov 24, 2008 12:30 AM

LeonJones
Foot Forward: LFF

Any one skiing with a total knee replacement?

I am a near 50 y/o rookie ( 15'-22' off at 32 mph) who needs a TKR. I've been putting it off, thinking it would be tough to ski with. Is there anyone out there who has had this done, who skis 80-100 sets per year?  Thanks in advance for any feedback.  My surgeon is recomending a trebuclar (sp?) implant that the bone grafts into for stregnth. He allows downhill skiing, half court basketball & doubles tennis, none of which I can do now, but I can slalom. My guess is that there is just enough give in the water so that the impact with a bone-on-bone knee is lessened. My hope is that this would bode well for skiing with the replacement. The surgeon doesnt know what to tell me because he's never had a patient who course skiied.
I know that my priority with this shouldn't be how it will effect my skiing, but it is :-) My biggest fear is that I'll have the procedure, and I'll then discover that my skiing is over. If I knew that would in fact be the case, I'd put this off and continue gulping NASIDs and keep getting cortasone injections.
HELP!

#2 Mon, Nov 24, 2008 1:38 AM

WadeWilliams
Pro Skier
Skis At: Not short enough
Foot Forward: Right

Re: Any one skiing with a total knee replacement?

Leon,