Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Tue, Oct 5, 2010 9:26 PM

bsmith95610

How much Horsepower is needed

I am looking at buying a used 2001 19' Bayliner Sport boat. It has a 4 cylinder engine that puts out 135hp. I am wondering if this boat will be fast enough to pull a water skier on two ski's or 1 ski, or a tuber, or a wake boarder. I weight about 225 lbs. so I don't know if the boat will have enough power to pull me out of the water. I am just a beginner so sorry if this is a dumb question. I looked at other thread but I didn't see any for a boat with the same HP. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

#2 Tue, Oct 5, 2010 9:50 PM

HO410
Skis At: Outlaw Lake
Foot Forward: Right

Re: How much Horsepower is needed

It's not ideal but that will be enough power to get you up. The only question is will you be able to be patient enough to give it time to pull you up. The less power a boat has out the hole, the longer you need to stay in that tucked position and wait it out.

Have you considered looking into an early 90's Mastercraft, or another ski boat of a similar vintage?

#3 Wed, Oct 6, 2010 6:17 PM

jamisonsbrodie
Skis At: Lotus Lake
Foot Forward: Left

Is the boat an I/O?  if so, it will not pull you up on 1 ski.  It will be fine for tubing and 2 skis, but anyone you will hate it for 1 ski.  If it is an outboard, than with the right prop it will pull you up on 1 with a bit of drag.