Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Fri, Jul 23, 2010 3:31 PM

hemlock
Skis At: Ness Lake BC, Canada
Foot Forward: Left

deep water start, sore back

Hello,

I've been skiing for over 20 years, (I'm 35 now) but recently have been getting sore lower back coming out of the water.
I wonder if its my technique, or is my back wearing out.  smile

My arms straight, knees bent, I'm a little ball with both feet in, and I get up no problem, but
it really strains my lower back.
Any tips to help with the back?

Thanks,
Mike

#2 Fri, Jul 23, 2010 4:14 PM

kstateskier

Re: deep water start, sore back

I've been slalom skiing in a back brace for a few seasons now. Seems to lessen the soreness...  Give it a shot, mine is just a velcro weight belt worn under my lifevest.

KstateSkier
"The only thing standing between you and your goals is you"

#3 Fri, Jul 23, 2010 6:02 PM

snow1122

My chiro and personal trainer says........make sure to stretch after skiing or any other sport activity.

Snow

#4 Sat, Jul 24, 2010 2:50 AM

SteveDoc
Skis At: Sacramento Delta
Foot Forward: right

I also have back problems and that was what kept me from skiing in a course, so many pull ups, I've found that if you don't fight the boat and trying to lean back against the pull you will have less problems.
What I try to do is stay tucked in tight and as you get pulled up let the boat gradually pull your body forward and this should take some load off your back. It works great for me.

Hope this helps,
Steve

#5 Sat, Jul 24, 2010 10:23 PM

jclydejohnson
Foot Forward: Right