Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Sun, Jul 18, 2010 1:32 AM

shootingstar

Beginner

I'm very new to water skiing, I can stand up and hold my own on the water but I'm looking to improve and don't have a teacher. I'm going skiing at a lake in two weeks and I'd like to try skiing outside the wake or making a rooster tail. Can anyone give me some tips on this? I have no idea how to make a rooster tail or even turn.

Any help would be great smile

#2 Sun, Jul 18, 2010 2:10 PM

BudMan
Skis At: Bud Lake
Foot Forward: Left

Re: Beginner

Welcome to waterskiing. I would encourage you to go by the library and check out some publications on water skiing. You should be able to find some basic stuff to discuss safety and hand signal communication. Safety is most important so talk with your boat driver before getting in the water to agree on what your hand signals mean.

The rooster tail is a byproduct of a turn or cut. You do both by leaning. I have seen people put a little pipe or scoop on the tail of a ski to shoot a rooster tail up continuously. I thought this is for more of a visual safety reason though.

If you can go take a beginner lesson some where before you go on you trip you will probably have a ton more fun on your trip. You should be able to learn more in an hour lesson than you could on the water learning on your own for a year. And at this stage, I would guess it would be near impossible to learn through reading forum post.

Life is great! Enjoy every minute!

#3 Mon, Jul 19, 2010 3:34 PM

behindpropellers

It would be helpful if you posted where you plan on skiing.

#4 Tue, Jul 20, 2010 10:00 PM

shootingstar

I'm going to Sylvan Lake. Just a medium sized lake in Alberta, Canada.