Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Mon, Feb 1, 2010 6:19 PM

dwallar
Foot Forward: Left

Why do I need a wing?

Hi Guys,

I have been skiing a D3 Custom X with double boots for a couple years now.  Last year I decided to get more serious and have had an opportunity to ski at a private ski club near me with a great coach.  My goal has been to just do the course for the first time.  Late last year I was able to do 4 @ 15 off @ 28 mph.  Not quite minimum yet but I was SO close.  Anyway, at my debrief of that day the coach suggested that I take off the wing from my fin as, as he said, "It's not really doing anything for you right now and is probably actually working against you."

Any idea why he would say that?

Thanks.

#2 Mon, Feb 1, 2010 6:37 PM

HO410
Skis At: Outlaw Lake
Foot Forward: Right

Re: Why do I need a wing?

The wing is often referred to as a "brake".

At 28mph you have a fraction of the inertia that you would at 34 or 36. You really don't need help slowing down. With that being said, I feel that a wing delivers a measure of stability, and you may feel more comfortable with that. Don't be afraid to try. In fact, try. You will never know how it feels unless you try.  Next to yourself, then your boots, the wing is the easiest thing to adjust on the ski. It only takes a second to pull it off, and it doesn't take much to get it back either.

Last edited by HO410 (Mon, Feb 1, 2010 6:40 PM)

#3 Mon, Feb 1, 2010 7:00 PM

Deke
Skis At: 15/34