Water Ski Coaching from Professional Waterskiers at ProSkiCoach.com

Announcement

We've Moved

The forum here @ PSC has been fun, but we're going to transplant it in much more fertile pastures.

If you already have a PSC account, use your email address to Request A New Password to get started @wetJacket

#1 Sun, Sep 6, 2009 11:06 PM

brennank

Help in the Course

Hello all,
I'm rather new to skiing in the the slalom course, but have been skiing on one ski for 2 years now. I am having some trouble getting around the last 5 balls. Each pass I'm within 2 feet of each ball, I let go with my outside hand to extend my body around the ball but just don't make it.

A few notes,
I'm 16 yrs old and around 120lbs.
Currently skiing at 15' off and around 28 mph.
I'm skiing on a 2007 Connelly F1X with a rear toe slip.
I occasionally ski behind a good friends 2002 196, but on most outings I'm behind a 18 foot Sea Ray..., looking to get a Nautique....

I have some pictures if that would help.....

You suggestions are greatly appreciated...
Thanks for your time.
Brennan

Last edited by brennank (Sun, Sep 6, 2009 11:07 PM)

#2 Mon, Sep 7, 2009 7:55 PM

tjo
Foot Forward: Right

Re: Help in the Course

Brennan,

The best advice I recieved when I was first learning the course was to not look at the turn buoy!  When you get around 1 ball, your instict will likely be to look across the course to 2 ball.  When you do that you ski to the ball and will miss it every time.  Don't worry about the entrance gates right now, and get really wide for 1 ball so that you can turn in right next to it.  Then, look straight across the lake and pick a spot on the shore...try and ski to that spot.  A few feet after you've passed the second wake, look for 2 ball and  begin your edge change.  Repeat for all subsequent balls. 

Good luck! 

Travis

Travis Ogden

#3 Mon, Sep 7, 2009 11:37 PM

h20dawg79
Water Ski Sage
Skis At: Old Hickory Lake, TN.
Foot Forward: left